WhatsApp rolled out message deletion feature last year in October. The time window of deleting any message after mistakenly sending it was 7 minutes, which now WhatsApp quietly has changed it to an hour. Let’s take a quick rundown of how WhatsApp messages change from now on.
WhatsApp Messages Deletion Feature
Twitter user WABetaInfo has noticed that the latest version of WhatsApp extends that time limit significantly to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds after it was originally sent. It is not clear why the time limit is so specific, moreover WhatsApp support pages don’t provide any additional info on it.
A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore.
It is a bug fixes update, but it has the new “Delete for everyone” limit, that’s 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) March 8, 2018
If you’re not familiar with the functionality of message deletion, deleting your messages works for both individual and group chats. Sadly, it won’t delete any trace of your message, instead, it will replace it with a notice saying that the message is no longer there.